Recruitment

PhD Students

The Turing Centre for Living Systems (CENTURI) wishes to attract talented PhD students to the Luminy campus (Marseille, France) and will fund up to 12 PhD fellowships to start in 2019, for three years. PhD students will work in an interdisciplinary life science environment, and have backgrounds in any of the following fields: cell or developmental biology, immunology, neurobiology, biophysics, theoretical physics, computer science, bioinformatics, applied mathematics, engineering. PhD projects must involve at least two research groups from different disciplines, to foster collaborations and interdisciplinarity.

Candidates can either apply to one of the advertised CENTURI projects or submit their own project, providing that they meet the application criteria and that their application is supported by at least one host lab.

Students will be co-supervised by two or three supervisors from our community. Candidates can apply to a maximum of three projects.

Do not hesitate to contact the projects' supervisors for more information.

 

Expected profile – selection criteria

Candidates must have, or expect to obtain a Master’s degree in biology, computer science, computational biology, mathematics, physics or engineering. Candidates will be evaluated on the following criteria:

-  Academic achievements

-  Past research experience (internships)

-  Ability to work on a collaborative research project

-  Ability to work in a multidisciplinary research environment

-  Enthusiasm and communication skills

 

Duration: 3 year

Deadline for application: February 15, 2019

Interviews in Marseille (pre-selected candidates only): April 23 - 26, 2019

 

To apply please fill the form associated to each project. Applications must include the following documents (compiled into a single PDF file):

  • CV
  • cover letter
  • transcript of your MSc's grades (M1 and M2 if available)

2 letters of recommendation must also be sent by your references at info@centuri-livingsystems.org.

 

Free websites are available to convert and compile documents into PDF files. Here is an example of said website: https://smallpdf.com/

Projects list:

PHD2018-01 | Instructing myofibrillogenesis in human muscle by forces and shapes

Supervisors: Frank Schnorrer (IBDM) - frank.schnorrer@univ-amu.fr  ; Olivier Theodoly (LAI) - olivier.theodoly@inserm.fr

PHD2018-02 | Mathematical modelling of cell migration in confined domains

Supervisors: Florence Hubert (I2M) - florence.hubert@univ-amu.fr  ; Olivier Theodoly (LAI) - olivier.theodoly@inserm.fr ; Julien Olivier (I2M) - julien.olivier@univ-amu.fr

PHD2018-03 | Visualizing deep hippocampus neuronal functional activity in vivo using ultra-thin 2-photon endoscopes

Supervisors: Hervé Rigneault (Fresnel Institute) - herve.rigneault@fresnel.fr ; Rosa Cossart (INMED) - rosa.cossart@inserm.fr

PHD2018-04 | Modeling T cell plasma membrane phase separation

Supervisors: Rémi Lasserre (CIML) - lasserre@ciml.univ-mrs.fr ; Marc Jaeger (M2P2) - marc.jaeger@centrale-marseille.fr

PHD2018-05 | Deciphering the activation states of plasmacytoid dendritic cells, their dynamical relationships and their molecular regulation

Supervisors: Thien-Phong Vu Manh (CIML) - vumanh@ciml.univ-mrs.fr ; Marc Dalod (CIML) - dalod@ciml.univ-mrs.fr ; Marco Pettini (CPT) - marco.pettini@univ-amu.fr

PHD2018-06 | In vivo identification of interactions between active microRNAs and target mRNAs

Supervisors: Harold Cremer (IBDM) - harold.cremer@univ-amu.fr ; Bianca Habermann (IBDM) - bianca.habermann@univ-amu.fr

PHD2018-07 | Functional transformations of sensory information in the brain: the mouse olfactory system as a model

Supervisors: Harold Cremer (IBDM) - harold.cremer@univ-amu.fr ; Jean-Claude Platel (IBDM) - jean-claude.platel@inserm.fr ; Hervé Rouault (CPT) - herve.rouault@gmail.com

PHD2018-08 | Are you sure where to go? Studying algorithm(s) for decision making and confidence in an ethological framework

Supervisors: David Robbe (INMED) - david.robbe@inserm.fr ; Ingrid Bureau (INMED) - ingrid.bureau@inserm.fr ; Christophe Eloy (IRPHE) - christophe.eloy@irphe.univ-mrs.fr

PHD2018-09 | Quantitative analysis and simulation of fluid flows powered by cilia in vivo

Supervisors: Laurent Kodjabachian (IBDM) - laurent.kodjabachian@univ-amu.fr ; Annie Viallat (CINAM) - viallat@cinam.univ-mrs.fr ; Julien Favier (M2P2) - julien.favier@univ-amu.fr

PHD2018-10 | Bacterial adaptation by OXPHOS dynamics: from single cell biology to gut microbiota

Supervisors: Axel Magalon (LCB) - magalon@imm.cnrs.fr ; Didier Marguet (CIML) - marguet@ciml.univ-mrs.fr

PHD2018-11 | Shape recognition and 3D visualization of neural circuitries from brain tissue clearing

Supervisors: Valéry Matarazzo (INMED) - valery.matarazzo@inserm.fr ; Djamal Merad (LIS) - djamal.merad@lis-lab.fr ; Christophe Pellegrino (INMED) - christophe.pellegrino@inserm.fr

PHD2018-12 | Genetic and phenotypic comorbidities between Mendelian and common diseases from a network perspective

Supervisors: Aitor Gonzàlez (TAGC) - aitor.gonzalez@univ-amu.fr ; Anaïs Baudot (MMG) - anais.baudot@univ-amu.fr

PHD2018-13 | Deciphering the interplay between cell polarity and inter-cellular forces in epithelial 3D organization

Supervisors: Elsa Bazellières (IBDM) - elsa.bazellieres@univ-amu.fr ; Matthias Merkel (CPT) - matthias.merkel@posteo.de

PHD2018-14 | Understanding large-scale spatial navigation using virtual reality, multi-site electrophysiological recordings and computational modeling

Supervisors: Jérôme Epsztein (INMED) - jerome.epsztein@inserm.fr ; Hervé Rouault (CPT) - herve.rouault@gmail.com

To submit your project

 

Please fill the template available below to submit a PhD project. We remind you that your project must be supported by at least one host lab.

The project as well as your CV and cover letter must be sent at the following address: phdproject@centuri-livingsystems.org

2 recommendation letters must be sent by your references at info@centuri-livingsystems.org.

 

Deadline for application: February 15, 2019

Engineers

EN2018-01 - Data analyst: bioinformatics

CENTURI is seeking a highly motivated bioinformatics research engineer to fill the post of lead data scientist/data analyst, within CENTURI’s technology transfer platform. This position will be a central point of data analysis, data sharing and code sharing for our research community.

EN2018-02 - Data analyst: image data processing

CENTURI is seeking a highly motivated research engineer on image data processing to fill the post of data scientist, within CENTURI’s technology transfer platform. This position will be a central point of data analysis, data sharing and code sharing for our research community.

EN2018-03 - Mechatronics research engineer

CENTURI is seeking a highly motivated mechatronics research engineer, to work within the CENTURI’s technology transfer platform. This position will contribute to the general interest of our research community in developing mechanical and electrical systems and solutions that are shared for various applications.

EN2018-04 - Software research engineer

CENTURI is seeking a highly motivated software engineer, to work within the CENTURI’s technology transfer platform. This position will contribute to the general interest of our research community in developing codes that are shared for various applications.

Deadline for Application: February 22, 2019

Location: Marseille (France)

Gross Monthly Salary: € 2,300 to € 3,500 (depending on experience)

 

For informal enqueries, please contact info@centuri-livingsystems.org.

 

Postdoctoral positions

Postdoctoral programme 2018 applications are closed

Principal Investigators

PI 2018 applications are closed

 
amidex
amu
anr
cnrs
ECM blanc
inserm
investissement d’avenir
 
X